As part of our collaboration with the Science and Entertainment Exchange of the National Academies of Science, this vlog series is a collection of brief talks with expert scientists and writers and producers as they grapple with the ideas of the future and the realities of our understanding today. 

Dr Olivia Osborne

Osborne is an interdisciplinary research scientist at UCLA in the multidisciplinary University of California Center for Environmental Implications of Nanotechnology (UC CEIN).

Tahir Hemphill

Tahir Hemphill is an award-winning advertising creative and multimedia artist, working across disciplines to find productive tension between art and technology. He explores community resilience through collaboration and research, influenced by scientific work that pushes investigation to artistic limits and art that pushes toward scientific method.

Dr. Joaquín (Quim) Madrenas

Dr. Madrenas is currently the CSO at the Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute at the Harbor-UCLA Medical Center.

Philip Ross

Ross is co-founder and CTO of MycoWorks, a start-up that turns mycelium into building bricks and leather—where he is poised to revolutionize the materials industry with his carbon-neutral, chemical-free, organic, biodegradable, and fully sustainable designs.

Dr. Maja Mataric

Dr. Matarić is a Professor and the Chan Soon-Shiong Chair in the Computer Science Department, Neuroscience Program, and the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Southern California (USC); Founding Director of the USC Robotics and Autonomous Systems Center; Co-Director of the USC Robotics Research Lab; Vice Dean for Research in the USC Viterbi School of Engineering; and Founder and CSO of Embodied, Inc.

Dr. Zach McKinney

Dr. McKinney is the CSO and co-founder of Spinal Singularity, a medical device start-up developing advanced technologies for the rehabilitation of spinal cord injury and other neurological disorders.

Dr. C Alex Young

Dr. Young is the Associate Director in the Heliophysics Science Division at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center and head of the Heliophysics Education Consortium.